CFHS Bridgeport

Bridgeport Carbon-Free & Healthy Schools

Since 2021, a community stakeholder-led steering committee has identified and pursued sustainability projects for Bridgeport Public Schools campuses and the district has received several grants for this work, with hopefully more to come. 

The Steering Committee

A coalition of concerned residents, activists, and stakeholders who want to ensure Bridgeport’s children have safe and healthy educational environments that are clean, carbon-free, and sustainable

Our Vision

The CFHS Steering Committee envisions a community that invests in its youth and promotes equity by ensuring that public school buildings are low-carbon, modernized facilities that allow students to thrive personally and academically, and protect students’ futures.

Our Mission

The CFHS Steering Committee identifies pathways to an equitable Carbon-Free & Healthy Schools program, including but not limited to deep retrofits for energy efficiency and solarization at all BPS district schools by 2030, and persuades decision-makers to execute these projects as part of Bridgeport’s transition to a modern, sustainable city.

Our Successes

Bridgeport Public School Facilities Department has committed itself to improving the health and sustainability of the district’s buildings.

DOE Renew America’s Schools Grant. Bridgeport Public Schools, in partnership with UConn, received $3.6 million for HVAC improvements, building management system and lighting controls, and solar with battery storage systems. The projects will incorporate workforce development programming for Bridgeport youth. 


In 2021, Cornell University researchers prepared a data dashboard to better understand how Bridgeport Public Schools as a whole or in specific areas would be impacted by a robust Carbon-Free & Healthy Schools program. Read about the dashboard

Get Involved

Share your priorities for Bridgeport Public School facilities by filling out the community survey below.

To join the Bridgeport Carbon-Free & Healthy School Steering Committee, email Allison Pilcher at [email protected]

Please direct media inquiries to Sydney Barnwell at [email protected]